PACT

Programme for Asian Language Collaboration in teaching

pact photo for website.png

Do you teach Chinese Mandarin, Japanese or Korean in your school?

Would you like to join a network that can support you in this role?

Do you want more practical teaching solutions and ideas based on well-researched theory?

If your answer to these questions is “yes”, then our new programme of cluster-based, teacher-led action research is definitely for you!


There are no costs for participants on this programme, as TRDs and travel to workshops are covered by Future Learning Solutions - Centre for Languages.

Your school will need to agree to one hour of teacher release following each of the two in-school support visits as part of the registration process.

Join the Future Learning Solutions team for a two-term intensive programme, starting in Term 1 and Term 3, including the following:

1st full day Workshop

  • Language as a process - real life language in the classroom

  • Modelling of best practice - followed by reflection and creation of your own resources

  • Turning theory into practice

  • Collaborating with others to create sustainable networks through a cluster inquiry

  • Teacher toolkit - practical tools to apply straight away

  • Support for non-native speakers to select a language course to complete during the two term programme

Online workshops (60 minutes each)

  • Four workshops over the two term programme, after school hours

  • Delivered in the flipped learning model - through podcasts and reading

  • Discussion forum and practical application

 

 

 

 

 

Classroom visits

  • 2 in-school support visits over the two term programme - cluster inquiry and application of toolkit focus

  • Follow up discussions with the programme facilitator

  • Progression in teaching pedagogy from visit one to visit two

  • Teacher videos; 2-5 minutes of evidence of your teaching based on elements of the programme

2nd full day Workshop 

  • Discussion, analysis and next steps based on group feedback of teacher video

  • Big picture language learning - tying all elements of the programme to the New Zealand Curriculum

  • Individual impact of the cluster inquiry

  • Sustainability of the cluster and inquiry

 

Grant in Aid  

  • Up to $500 per person for language study available

  • Native speakers will study a new language from North Asia, South-East Asia or South America

  • Non-native speakers will study the target language being taught

  • The Future Learning Solutions team will support each teacher to select appropriate study

Choose from the following cluster options based on your availability to attend on the dates shown to register for the programme.

Clusters for Terms 1 & 2

Clusters for Terms 3 & 4

 

Cluster 1

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Mon 17 Feb
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Mon 2 Mar
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Tuesday 12 May
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Wed 3 Jun
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Mon 22 Jun
9am-3pm

 

Cluster 2

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Wed 4 March
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Mon 16 March
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Wed 20 May
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Tues 2 June
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Thurs 25 June
9am-3pm

 

Cluster 3

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Fri 6 March
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Wed 18 Mar
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Mon 18 May
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Thurs 4 Jun
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Wed 1 July
9am-3pm

 

Cluster 4

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Mon 27 July
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Tues 11 Aug
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Wed 9 Sept
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Thurs 29 Oct
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Mon 16 Nov
9am-3pm

Register >

Cluster 5

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Wed 5 Aug
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Wed 19 Aug
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Mon 7 Sept
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Thurs 22 Oct
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Wed 25 Nov
9am-3pm

Register >

Cluster 6

Workshop 1
(Face-to-Face)
Fri 7 Aug
9am-3pm

Workshop 2
(Online)
Thurs 20 Aug
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 3
(Online)
Tues 8 Sept
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 4
(Online)
Mon 19 Oct
3.30-4.30pm

Workshop 5
(Face-to-Face)
Fri 27 Nov
9am-3pm

Register >